Scottish National Gallery, Hawthornden Lecture Theatre

1-2 December 2017, 9am – 5pm

Join us for two days of stimulating talks on the topic of national revivals in European art c.1900. Speakers will examine issues around authenticity, ‘rewriting’, reinterpretation and the assimilation of national styles, symbols and cultural narratives in late nineteenth century European art and literature. Papers will encompass a wide geographical range: from Finland, Norway, Estonia and Germany to Poland, France, Spain, Ireland and Scotland, and focus on such artists as El Greco, John Duncan, Akseli Gallen-Kallela, Sir Frederic Leighton, René Ménard and Lucas Cranach. Themes include the revival of classicism in English and French art, the Celtic Revival in Scotland, Ireland and Brittany, as well as spiritualism and theosophy.

The conference includes a visit to the astonishing Phoebe Traquair murals at Mansefield Traquair, led by Dr Elizabeth Cumming and a story telling by Linda Perttula

A partnership between: University of Edinburgh, University of Helsinki, National Galleries of Scotland and the Ateneum Art Museum, Finnish National Gallery, Helsinki. Supported by the Oskar Öflunds Stiftelse.

Ticket Price: £25 (full price) / £15 (concession, student price). Includes tea/coffee

Visit to Mansefield Traquair, Friday 1 December, 17.00pm: £5 (pay on day)

Tickets will be available soon from Eventbrite via and the Scottish National Gallery Information Desk located at the Princes Street Gardens Entrance or by calling 0131 624 6560.

Dr Anna-Maria von Bonsdorff (Finnish National Gallery)
Dr Frances Fowle (University of Edinburgh/National Galleries of Scotland)
Dr Marja Lahelma (University of Helsinki)

Keynote Speakers
Professor Hugh Cheape (University of the Highlands and Islands)
Dr Riitta Ojanperä (Finnish National Gallery)
Dr Riikka Stewen (University of Turku, Helsinki)

Speakers and Panellists
Dr Charlotte Ashby (Birkbeck, University of London)
Professor Nina Athanassoglou-Kallmyer (University of Delaware)
Dr Edyta Barucka (University of Warsaw)
Professor Iain Boyd Whyte (University of Edinburgh)
Dr Caroline Boyle-Turner (Independent scholar, Pont-Aven, Brittany)
Dr Abigail Burnyeat (University of Edinburgh)
Dr Michelle Foot (University of Edinburgh)
Dr Claudia Hopkins (University of Edinburgh)
Dr Scott Lyall (Edinburgh Napier University)
Professor Murdo Macdonald (University of Dundee)
Nicholas Parkinson (Stony Brook University, New York)
Dr Michael Shaw (University of Kent)
Professor Juliet Simpson (Coventry University)
Tonje H. Sorensen (University of Bergen)
Dr Dòmhnall Uilleam Stiùbhart (University of the Highlands and Islands)
Professor Richard Thomson (University of Edinburgh)
Dr Silja Vuorikuru (University of Helsinki)
Professor Clare A.P. Willsdon (Glasgow University)